October 24, 2021

Access Tv Pro

Breaking News, Sports, Health, Entertainment, Business, and More

Abdulrazak Gurnah is Awarded Nobel Prize in Literature

Send Us a Video With Your Question About Kids and Covid

The Nobel Prize in Literature was awarded on Thursday to Abdulrazak Gurnah for “his uncompromising and compassionate penetration of the results of colonialism and the destiny of the refugee within the gulf between cultures and continents.”

The prize, which is for a author’s total physique of labor, is considered literature’s most prestigious. Previous recipients of the award, first given out in 1901, have included the novelist Toni Morrison, the playwright Samuel Beckett and the singer-songwriter Bob Dylan.

This can be a breaking information story. Verify again for updates.

The American poet Louise Glück was awarded final yr’s literature prize for writing “that with austere magnificence makes particular person existence common,” in accordance with the quotation from the Nobel committee. Her award was seen as a much-needed reset for the prize after a number of years of scandal.

In 2018, the academy postponed the prize after the husband of an academy member was accused of sexual misconduct and of leaking candidates’ names to bookmakers. The academy member, Jean-Claude Arnault, was later sentenced to two years in prison for rape.

The next yr, the academy awarded the delayed 2018 prize to Olga Tokarczuk, an experimental Polish novelist. However the academy got here in for criticism for giving the 2019 prize to Peter Handke, an Austrian writer and playwright who has been accused of genocide denial for questioning occasions in the course of the Balkan Wars of the Nineties — together with the Srebrenica bloodbath, wherein about 8,000 Muslim males and boys have been murdered.

Lawmakers in Albania, Bosnia and Kosovo denounced the choice, as did a number of high-profile novelists, together with Jennifer Egan and Hari Kunzru.

  • David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian have been awarded the prize in physiology or drugs on Monday for his or her discoveries about how individuals sense warmth, chilly, contact and their very own bodily actions.

  • Three scientists whose work “laid the inspiration of our data of the Earth’s local weather and the way humanity influences it” have been awarded the prize for physics on Tuesday: Syukuro Manabe of Princeton College; Klaus Hasselmann of the Max Planck Institute for Meteorology in Hamburg, Germany; and Giorgio Parisi of the Sapienza College of Rome

  • Benjamin List and David W.C. MacMillan have been awarded the chemistry prize on Wednesday for growing a extra environmentally pleasant software to construct molecules.

Source link