What to Know About State Moves to Ban Transgender Health Care

Nine states — Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Iowa, Mississippi, South Dakota, Tennessee and Utah — have passed laws banning gender care for minors. Florida’s Board of Medicine barred doctors from providing the treatments to new patients, while the Texas attorney general directed the state to investigate parents of transgender youth and any doctors providing care to them for “child abuse.”

Arvin Temkar/Atlanta Journal-Constitution, via Associated Press